Minnesota State Colleges & Universities

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/nanovoxn/public_html/plugins/content/uyguntabs/uyguntabs.php on line 33

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/nanovoxn/public_html/plugins/content/uyguntabs/uyguntabs.php on line 34


The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system is the largest single provider of higher education in the state of Minnesota and the fifth-largest system of colleges and universities in the United States. The system includes 31 institutions (24 technical and community colleges and seven state universities) spanning 54 campuses across 47 Minnesota communities serving more than 435,000 students annually.    logo 
MnSCU colleges and universities offer 522 programs and more than 15,000 courses either partially or fully online. MnSCU colleges and universities also deliver 16,000 customized training, occupational and professional classes to businesses and other employers, serving 120,000 workers each year.

MnSCU markets itself as Minnesota’s most affordable higher education option, with substantially lower tuition costs than for-profit options, the University of Minnesota and private colleges. MnSCU serves anyone with a high school diploma or GED and notes that more MnSCU students graduate with no debt or significantly lower debt than many of Minnesota’s other higher education options. Currently 66 percent of all Minnesota residents pursuing an undergraduate credential are enrolled at a MnSCU college or university. The system also serves more than 59,900 students of color (more than any other provider of higher education in Minnesota), 26,636 PSEO students and 10,644 veterans. MnSCU serves more low-income students than all of the other higher education providers in the state combined.

The law creating MnSCU was passed by the Minnesota Legislature in 1991 and went into effect July 1, 1995, merging the state’s community colleges, technical colleges and state universities into one system.  MnSCU is governed by a 15-member Board of Trustees, each appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Minnesota Senate. The board appoints a chancellor for the system, who is responsible for providing academic leadership to the system's 31 colleges and universities, ensuring effective and efficient management and operation of the system, carrying out board policies, recommending operating and capital budgets to the board and planning for the current and long-term educational needs of Minnesota. Each college and university is headed by a president who serves as its chief executive officer; the presidents report to the chancellor.

The present MnSCU Chancellor is Steven J. Rosenstone, who began his term with Minnesota State Colleges and Universities on Aug. 1, 2011.


small horiz gray line(1)

Browse a list of the MnSCU resources.

small horiz gray line(1)

94795eb3-710c-4a83-9c88-2b0cba2950c0 500 153
Special thanks to DEED for its commitment to workforce development and collaboration support as demonstrated by a grant to NanoVox to create the MnSCU Hub.


P.O. Box 41368
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55441-0368


Sponsor the NanoVox Community Today!

Slide background
Slide background